Aave AAVE

Rank #43 by market cap

$161.46
1H▼0.37% 24H▼5.98% 7D▼2.44%

Last 7 days

High $186.33Low $164.97

CM Profile: Aave

Cryptominium Profile. What we have established, measured and written about AAVE, and what we have not.

Measured

Read from our own records when this page was made. It describes what we know, and is not a view on whether to hold AAVE. How each part is worked out

What changed

Week to 8 October

Nothing we measure moved much this week: trading volume, reported supply and price are all within their usual range.

From our own measurements only, each against the month before. We do not say why a price moves. How this is worked out · Every coin this week

What it actually costs to sell AAVE

Selling $100,000 of AAVE into each exchange’s resting bids, measured against the mid price:

ExchangeLostGot backMeasured
Kraken AAVE/USD 0.21% $99,792 2026-10-08
Coinbase AAVE/USD 0.23% $99,770 2026-10-08

Exchange figures need an account there (and KYC, a permitted country, the tokens already deposited), are before trading fees, and are never averaged with the on-chain figure. Binance is not included: it refuses requests from the region our servers are in. How this is measured →

Watch this number instead of remembering it. A free account keeps AAVE on a list, records where it stood the day you added it, and emails you if selling it on these exchanges gets materially harder — one message, not a series. The measurement itself stays public; the account is for being told when it moves without you looking.

Create a free account or sign in

24h low $163.62 24h high $175.91
Market cap
$2.49B
24h volume
$351.38M
Circulating supply
15,435,589 AAVE
Max supply
16,000,000
All-time high
$661.69
▼75.60% from ATH · May 2021
All-time low
$26.02
Nov 2020

What Aave is

Aave is a lending protocol, launched as ETHLend in 2017 by Stani Kulechov and rebuilt under its current name in 2020. It lets people deposit crypto to earn interest and borrow against it, with no application and no counterparty negotiation — the terms are set by code and by how much of the available pool is being used.

Every loan is over-collateralised: you must post more value than you borrow. If the collateral falls in value past a threshold, anyone can trigger a liquidation, repaying part of the debt in exchange for a discount on the collateral. That mechanism is what keeps the pools solvent without credit checks.

It is not a savings account, and the interest rate is not a yield in the sense a bank means it. Deposits are not insured, the rate changes continuously with demand, and the funds sit in smart contracts that could contain undiscovered flaws. Liquidations are automatic and unsentimental — in a fast decline they execute in minutes, at a discount, with no opportunity to add collateral first. AAVE staked in the protocol's Safety Module is explicitly at risk of being seized to cover a shortfall; that is the design, and it is what the extra return is paying for.

What Aave can do

Be sold for dollars
Yes
Through An account at an exchange

Selling $100,000 on Kraken lost 0.21% against the mid price, before trading fees. Check your own amount →

Our own measurement · measured 8 October 2026

Run applications
No

AAVE does not run applications. It is a token on Ethereum that gives its holders a vote on how the Aave lending protocol is run.

Source: Aave docs: governance · checked 2 October 2026

What a coin can do is not a reason to buy it or to sell it. Each answer names its source and the day we read it; where we could not source one, the row is left out. How these are written · Every coin we have written up

Where AAVE lives

Arbitrum
18 decimals
Avalanche
18 decimals
18 decimals
GoPlus reading, 5 October Blocking addresses: none · Pausing transfers: none · GoPlus
18 decimals
GoPlus reading, 6 October Blocking addresses and pausing transfers: not reported for this contract (often an upgradeable one).
Energi
18 decimals
18 decimals
GoPlus reading, 3 October Blocking addresses and pausing transfers: not reported for this contract (often an upgradeable one).
Fantom
18 decimals
Harmony Shard 0
18 decimals
Huobi Token
18 decimals
Hydration
18 decimals
NEAR
18 decimals
Optimism
18 decimals
Polygon
18 decimals
Solana
8 decimals
On-chain, read 8 October Mint authority: set, held by 2qMm…ZuNY · Freeze authority: none · Solscan
Sora
18 decimals

On Solana, a mint authority can create more of the token and a freeze authority can freeze it in a holder's account; both are read from the token itself, every day. On Ethereum, Base and BNB Chain, GoPlus's analysis of each contract is read weekly: whether it has a function to block addresses or pause transfers, and whether an owner holds it. That is GoPlus's reading, not ours. Where a token exists on several chains, one copy's settings say nothing about the original coin.

Always verify a contract address against the project's own site before sending anything. Addresses are shown as published by CoinGecko, not as an endorsement — and identical-looking tokens on other chains are the most common way people lose money here.

Links reported by CoinGecko — not checked by us
Classified by CoinGecko as Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Yield Farming BNB Chain Ecosystem Lending/Borrowing Protocols Solana Ecosystem Avalanche Ecosystem

Price change

1h
▼0.37%
24h
▼5.98%
7d
▼2.44%

Aave data synced 10s ago from CoinGecko. Figures shown in USD. This page is market information, not financial advice — and nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell AAVE.

The exit-friction index

Once a month we publish what a $100,000 exit really costs across every token we can measure. Leave an address and this month’s figure arrives straight away, and we will write again when the next index publishes. Nothing else, and never to anyone else.